Hey Teacher

Hey Teacher

(an anaphora poem)

 

Hey teacher, do you remember?

You said we’d use this in real life

You said your lessons were applications

So why hit me for applying?

Hey teacher, do you remember?

Ad hominem attacks are logical fallacies

They don’t undermine the argument – they sidetrack

So by attacking my age, don’t you know you’re proving me right?

 

Hey teacher, do you remember?

You said you wanted my honest feedback

To help you grow and improve – at least that’s what you said

So why step on my suggestion?

 

Hey teacher, do you remember?

You said discrimination was wrong

You said hooray to the end of oppression and slaves

So what’s with your cultural insensitivity?

 

Hey teacher, do you remember?

When you dissed political figures for hypocrisy

You said this country was built on honor and honesty

So why are you doing what you told me not to?

 

Hey teacher, do you remember?

Your job entails professionalism

Meaning you brush aside the pettiness

You lock away the drama

Be the role model your students need

Not a 50 year old teen

 

Hey teacher, do you remember?

Those lessons you once taught me?

It’s pretty ironic, because I did learn a lot from you

I learned exactly how not to be

One thought on “Hey Teacher

Leave a Reply

